Open Advising Schedule

Open advising is held in a shared Zoom link, with this password 412922, for all open advising hours.

The open advising schedule is updated each Friday with the following week's information. If you have any questions or concerns, please reach out via email to

Monday, June 10th

  • No open advising on this day

Tuesday, June 11th

  • No open advising on this day

Wednesday, June 12th

  • No open advising on this day

Thursday, June 13th

  • 11 a.m. – 1 p.m. with Paloma Mathern

Friday, June 14th

  • No open advising on this day


Woman behind laptop advising another student as they both look at screen

Undergraduate Advising

Woman advising another student

Degree Progress Report

The Degree Progress Report (DPR) for self advising is a great resource for students to self-advise.The DPR tracks your current progress toward meeting the requirements for General Education and the COMM major. Color coding indicates which requirements are complete, in progress, and not yet complete.


Faculty Office Hours and Contact Information

Please consult class syllabi or contact faculty directly for office hours.

Major and minor advising is only offered by faculty indicated as "COMM Advisor" in the far right cell.

Name Title Email Advisor Status
Shadee Abdi Undergraduate Advising Coordinator By request from COMM Advisor
Fatima Alaoui Associate Professor By request from  
Kat Arnolfo Lecturer Faculty  
James Boyd Lecturer Faculty  
Allen Conkle Lecturer Faculty  
Cherakah Cunningham Lecturer Faculty  
Ashmi Desai Assistant Professor Conflict Resolution Advisor
Deborah Farris Lecturer Faculty  
Ruth Gildea Lecturer Faculty  
Constance Gordon Assistant Professor COMM Advisor
Alexandra Hinck Assistant Professor COMM Advisor
Vivian Huang Assistant Professor COMM Advisor
Amy Kilgard Department Chair  
Christopher Koenig Associate Professor  
Omar Kudsi Lecturer Faculty  
Karen Lovaas Associate Professor COMM Advisor
Xander Lovelace Lecturer Faculty  
Paloma Mathern Internship Director COMM Advisor
Samuel McCormick Professor COMM Advisor
Gerianne Merrigan Professor  
Angelina Moles Lecturer Faculty  
Miranda Olzman Lecturer Faculty  
Suzanne Pullen Lecturer Faculty  
Sage Russo Lecturer Faculty  
John Ryan Lecturer Faculty  
Christina Sabee Professor COMM Advisor
Susan Shimanoff Professor COMM Advisor
Pati Shojaee Lecturer Faculty  
Badu Smith Assistant Professor COMM Advisor
Douglas Spielman Lecturer Faculty  
Orion Steele Lecturer Faculty  
Ana Terminel Iberri Assistant Professor COMM Advisor
Nereyda Valdez Lecturer Faculty  
Leah Wingard Graduate Coordinator  
Timothy Wolcott Lecturer Faculty  
Gust Yep Professor COMM Advisor