Advising

Open Advising Schedule

Open advising is held in a shared Zoom link, with this password 412922, for all open advising hours.

The open advising schedule is updated each Friday with the following week's information. If you have any questions or concerns, please reach out via email to comm@sfsu.edu.

Thursday, Oct. 14 

  • 4 – 6 p.m. with Suzanne Pullen 

Friday, Oct. 15 

  • Noon – 2 p.m. with Allen Conkle 

Monday, Oct. 18 

  • No open advising on this day

Tuesday, Oct. 19 

  • No open advising on this day

Wednesday, Oct. 20 

  • 8 – 10 a.m. with Suzanne Pullen 

Thursday, Oct. 21 

  • No open advising on this day

Friday, Oct. 22 

  • Noon – 2 p.m. with Allen Conkle 

Karen Rubin with computer and smiling while advising

Undergraduate Advising

Woman advising another student

Degree Progress Report

The Degree Progress Report (DPR) for self advising is a great resource for students to self-advise.The DPR tracks your current progress toward meeting the requirements for General Education and the COMM major. Color coding indicates which requirements are complete, in progress, and not yet complete.

The ARC logo - advising resource center in the College of Liberal & Creative Arts

Advising Resource Center

The College of Liberal & Creative Arts established the student Advising Resource Center (ARC) to provide multiple support services to students. You can receive information regarding requirements for your degree, petitions, financial aid, tutoring, student clubs, events, careers and much more.

 

Faculty Office Hours and Contact Information

Please contact faculty directly for Zoom meeting links.

Major and minor advising is only offered by faculty indicated as "COMM Advisor" in the far right cell.

Faculty Advisors
Name Title Email Fall Office Hours Advisor Status
Shadee Abdi Assistant Professor By request from comm@sfsu.edu TBD COMM Advisor
Fatima Alaoui Graduate Coordinator By request from comm@sfsu.edu TBD COMM Advisor
Teddy Albiniak Forensics Director albiniak@sfsu.edu TBD  
Kat Arnolfo Lecturer Faculty karnolfo@sfsu.edu TBD  
Robert Boller Lecturer Faculty boller@sfsu.edu TBD  
James Boyd Lecturer Faculty jwboyd@sfsu.edu TBD  
Allen Conkle Lecturer Faculty aconkle@sfsu.edu TBD  
Victor Coronado Lecturer Faculty vcoronad@mail.sfsu.edu TBD  
Colleen Kim Daniher Assistant Professor ckdaniher@sfsu.edu TBD COMM Advisor
Ashmi Desai Assistant Professor ashmidesai@sfsu.edu TBD Conflict Resolution Advisor
Deborah Farris Lecturer Faculty dfarris@mail.sfsu.edu TBD  
Ruth Gildea Lecturer Faculty rgildea@sfsu.edu TBD  
Constance Gordon Assistant Professor cgordon@sfsu.edu TBD COMM Advisor
Alexandra Hinck Assistant Professor ahinck@sfsu.edu TBD COMM Advisor
Mark Jones Lecturer Faculty clever1@sfsu.edu TBD  
Jennifer Kammeyer Lecturer Faculty kammeyer@sfsu.edu TBD  
Amy Kilgard Department Chair akilgard@sfsu.edu TBD  
Christopher Koenig Associate Professor cjkoenig@sfsu.edu TBD COMM Advisor
Omar Kudsi Lecturer Faculty kudsi@sfsu.edu TBD  
Ryan Lescure Lecturer Faculty rlescure@sfsu.edu TBD  
Ben Linzer Lecturer Faculty blinzer@sfsu.edu TBD  
Karen Lovaas Associate Professor klovaas@sfsu.edu TBD COMM Advisor
Marc Martin Lecturer Faculty mamartin@sfsu.edu TBD  
Paloma Mathern Internship Director amolap@sfsu.edu

TBD

COMM Advisor
Samuel McCormick Professor mccrmck@sfsu.edu TBD COMM Advisor
Cole McLean Lecturer Faculty cmclean@mail.sfsu.edu TBD  
Gerianne Merrigan Professor merrigan@sfsu.edu TBD COMM Advisor
Angelina Moles Lecturer Faculty amoles@sfsu.edu TBD  
Meagan Nance Lecturer Faculty megnance@sfsu.edu TBD  
Miranda Olzman Lecturer Faculty miranda.d.olzman@
gmail.com
TBD  
Nico Peck Lecturer Faculty nicopeck@sfsu.edu TBD  
Evy Pine Lecturer Faculty evy@sfsu.edu TBD  
Anastasia Prentiss Lecturer Faculty prentiss@sfsu.edu TBD  
Suzanne Pullen Lecturer Faculty spullen@sfsu.edu TBD  
Pablo Ramirez Lecturer Faculty pramirez@mail.sfsu.edu TBD  
Matthew Ringard Lecturer Faculty mringard@sfsu.edu TBD  
Charles Rope Lecturer Faculty chass@sfsu.edu TBD  
Sage Russo Lecturer Faculty srusso@mail.sfsu.edu TBD  
John Ryan Lecturer Faculty jbr@sfsu.edu TBD  
Orion Steele Lecturer Faculty orion.steele@gmail.com TBD  
Joseph Tuman Professor joetuman@sfsu.edu TBD COMM Advisor
Jade Tumazi Lecturer Faculty jtumazi@mail.sfsu.edu TBD  
Paul Wangsvick Lecturer Faculty paulwangsvick@sfsu.edu TBD  
Leah Wingard Undergraduate Advising Coordinator wingard@sfsu.edu TBD COMM Advisor
Timothy Wolcott Lecturer Faculty twolcott@sfsu.edu TBD  
Gust Yep Professor gyep@sfsu.edu TBD COMM Advisor