Advising

Open Advising Schedule

Open advising will resume the week of Nov. 14. If you need help earlier, please contact commadvising@sfsu.edu.

For general education questions, please contact the ARC (for sophomores, juniors, and seniors) or the Undergraduate Advising Center (for first-year students).

Karen Rubin with computer and smiling while advising

Undergraduate Advising

Woman advising another student

Degree Progress Report

The Degree Progress Report (DPR) for self advising is a great resource for students to self-advise.The DPR tracks your current progress toward meeting the requirements for General Education and the COMM major. Color coding indicates which requirements are complete, in progress, and not yet complete.

The ARC logo - advising resource center in the College of Liberal & Creative Arts

Advising Resource Center

The College of Liberal & Creative Arts established the student Advising Resource Center (ARC) to provide multiple support services to students. You can receive information regarding requirements for your degree, petitions, financial aid, tutoring, student clubs, events, careers and much more.

 

Faculty Office Hours and Contact Information

Please consult class syllabi or contact faculty directly for office hours.

Major and minor advising is only offered by faculty indicated as "COMM Advisor" in the far right cell.

Name

Title

Email

Advisor Status

 

Shadee Abdi

Assistant Professor

By request from comm@sfsu.edu

COMM Advisor

 

Fatima Alaoui

Graduate Coordinator

By request from comm@sfsu.edu

COMM Advisor

 

Teddy Albiniak

Forensics Director

albiniak@sfsu.edu

 

 

Kat Arnolfo

Lecturer Faculty

karnolfo@sfsu.edu

 

 

Robert Boller

Lecturer Faculty

boller@sfsu.edu

 

 

James Boyd

Lecturer Faculty

jwboyd@sfsu.edu

 

 

Andrea Brown

 

Lecturer Faculty

andreabrown@sfsu.edu

 

Kaitlin Cannava

Lecturer Faculty

kcannava@sfsu.edu

 

 

Erik Christianson

Lecturer Faculty

erikcore@mail.sfsu.edu

 

 

Allen Conkle

Lecturer Faculty

aconkle@sfsu.edu

 COMM Advisor

 

Victor Coronado

Lecturer Faculty

vcoronad@mail.sfsu.edu

 

 

Cherakah Cunningham

Lecturer Faculty

cherakac@mail.sfsu.edu

 

 

Ashmi Desai

Assistant Professor

ashmidesai@sfsu.edu

Conflict Resolution Advisor

 

Philip Enguancho

Lecturer Faculty

penguanc@mail.sfsu.edu

 

 

Deborah Farris

Lecturer Faculty

dfarris@mail.sfsu.edu

 

 

Roe Gallo

Lecturer Faculty

roegallo@sfsu.edu

 

 

Ruth Gildea

Lecturer Faculty

rgildea@sfsu.edu

 

 

Constance Gordon

Assistant Professor

cgordon@sfsu.edu

COMM Advisor

 

Alexandra Hinck

Assistant Professor

ahinck@sfsu.edu

COMM Advisor

 

Kyle Johnson

Lecturer Faculty

kdjohnson@sfsu.edu

 

 

Mark Jones

Lecturer Faculty

clever1@sfsu.edu

 

 

Jennifer Kammeyer

Lecturer Faculty

kammeyer@sfsu.edu

 

 

Amy Kilgard

Department Chair

akilgard@sfsu.edu

 

 

Christopher Koenig

Associate Professor

cjkoenig@sfsu.edu

COMM Advisor

 

Omar Kudsi

Lecturer Faculty

kudsi@sfsu.edu

 

 

Ryan Lescure

Lecturer Faculty

rlescure@sfsu.edu

 

 

Ben Linzer

Lecturer Faculty

blinzer@sfsu.edu

 

 

Karen Lovaas

Associate Professor

klovaas@sfsu.edu

COMM Advisor

 

Xander Lovelace

Lecturer Faculty

xlovelace@sfsu.edu

 

 

Marla Lowenthal

Lecturer Faculty

mlowenth@sfsu.edu

 

 

Lijia Lumsden

Lecturer Faculty

llumsden@sfsu.edu

 

 

Marc Martin

Lecturer Faculty

mamartin@sfsu.edu

 

 

Paloma Mathern

Internship Director

amolap@sfsu.edu

COMM Advisor

 

Samuel McCormick

Professor

mccrmck@sfsu.edu

COMM Advisor

 

Cole McLean

Lecturer Faculty

cmclean@mail.sfsu.edu

 

 

Gerianne Merrigan

Professor

merrigan@sfsu.edu

COMM Advisor

 

Angelina Moles

Lecturer Faculty

amoles@sfsu.edu

 

 

Meagan Nance

Lecturer Faculty

megnance@sfsu.edu

 

 

Miranda Olzman

Lecturer Faculty

miranda.d.olzman@gmail.com

 

 

Ivan Ornelas

Lecturer Faculty

ivanornelas@sfsu.edu

 

 

Danielle O’Leary

Lecturer Faculty

dnoleary@sfsu.edu

 

 

Nico Peck

Lecturer Faculty

nicopeck@sfsu.edu

 

 

Anastasia Prentiss

Lecturer Faculty

prentiss@sfsu.edu

 

 

Suzanne Pullen

Lecturer Faculty

spullen@sfsu.edu

 COMM Advisor

 

Ashiyan Rahmani-Shirazi

Lecturer Faculty

ashrahmani@sfsu.edu

 

 

Matthew Ringard

Lecturer Faculty

mringard@sfsu.edu

 

 

Charles Rope

Lecturer Faculty

chass@sfsu.edu

 

 

Sage Russo

Lecturer Faculty

srusso@mail.sfsu.edu

 

 

John Ryan

Lecturer Faculty

jbr@sfsu.edu

 

 

Jeff Saperstein

Lecturer Faculty

sapermkt@sfsu.edu

 

 

Pati Shojaee

Lecturer Faculty

pshojaee@sfsu.edu

 

 

Douglas Spielman

Lecturer Faculty

spielman@sfsu.edu

 

 

Orion Steele

Lecturer Faculty

orion.steele@gmail.com

 

 

Joseph Tuman

Professor

joetuman@sfsu.edu

COMM Advisor

 

Jade Tumazi

Lecturer Faculty

jtumazi@mail.sfsu.edu

 

 

Paul Wangsvick

Lecturer Faculty

paulwangsvick@sfsu.edu

 

 

Eric Weidner

Lecturer Faculty

eweidner@sfsu.edu

 

 

Leah Wingard

Undergraduate Advising Coordinator

wingard@sfsu.edu

COMM Advisor

 

 

Timothy Wolcott

Lecturer Faculty

twolcott@sfsu.edu

 

 

Gust Yep

Professor

gyep@sfsu.edu

COMM Advisor