Advising

Open Advising Schedule

Open advising is held in a shared Zoom link, with this password 412922, for all open advising hours.

The open advising schedule is updated each Friday with the following week's information. If you have any questions or concerns, please reach out via email to comm@sfsu.edu.

Monday, Jan. 30th

  • 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. with Christopher Koenig 
  • 12 – 2 p.m. with Christina Sabee

Tuesday, Jan. 31st

  • 12 – 2 p.m. with Christina Sabee 

Wednesday, Feb. 1st 

  • 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. with Karen Lovaas 
  • 1 – 4 p.m. with Paloma Mathern

Thursday, Feb. 2nd

  • 10 – 11 a.m. with Leah Wingard

Friday, Feb. 3rd

  • No open advising on this day
Karen Rubin with computer and smiling while advising

Undergraduate Advising

Woman advising another student

Degree Progress Report

The Degree Progress Report (DPR) for self advising is a great resource for students to self-advise.The DPR tracks your current progress toward meeting the requirements for General Education and the COMM major. Color coding indicates which requirements are complete, in progress, and not yet complete.

The ARC logo - advising resource center in the College of Liberal & Creative Arts

Advising Resource Center

The College of Liberal & Creative Arts established the student Advising Resource Center (ARC) to provide multiple support services to students. You can receive information regarding requirements for your degree, petitions, financial aid, tutoring, student clubs, events, careers and much more.

 

Faculty Office Hours and Contact Information

Please consult class syllabi or contact faculty directly for office hours.

Major and minor advising is only offered by faculty indicated as "COMM Advisor" in the far right cell.

Name Title Email Advisor Status
Shadee Abdi Assistant Professor By request from comm@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Fatima Alaoui Graduate Coordinator By request from comm@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Teddy Albiniak Forensics Director albiniak@sfsu.edu  
Kat Arnolfo Lecturer Faculty karnolfo@sfsu.edu  
James Boyd Lecturer Faculty jwboyd@sfsu.edu  
Erik Christianson Lecturer Faculty erikcore@mail.sfsu.edu  
Allen Conkle Lecturer Faculty aconkle@sfsu.edu  
Cherakah Cunningham Lecturer Faculty cherakac@mail.sfsu.edu  
Ashmi Desai Assistant Professor ashmidesai@sfsu.edu

Conflict Resolution Advisor

Deborah Farris Lecturer Faculty dfarris@mail.sfsu.edu  
Roe Gallo Lecturer Faculty roegallo@sfsu.edu  
Ruth Gildea Lecturer Faculty rgildea@sfsu.edu  
Constance Gordon Assistant Professor cgordon@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Alexandra Hinck Assistant Professor ahinck@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Vivian Huang Assistant Professor vhuang@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Mark Jones Lecturer Faculty clever1@sfsu.edu  
Amy Kilgard Department Chair akilgard@sfsu.edu  
Christopher Koenig Associate Professor cjkoenig@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Omar Kudsi Lecturer Faculty kudsi@sfsu.edu  
Ryan Lescure Lecturer Faculty rlescure@sfsu.edu  
Karen Lovaas Associate Professor klovaas@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Xander Lovelace Lecturer Faculty xlovelace@sfsu.edu  
Marla Lowenthal Lecturer Faculty mlowenth@sfsu.edu  
Paloma Mathern Internship Director amolap@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Samuel McCormick Professor mccrmck@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Gerianne Merrigan Professor merrigan@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Angelina Moles Lecturer Faculty amoles@sfsu.edu  
Ivan Ornelas Lecturer Faculty ivanornelas@sfsu.edu  
Nico Peck Lecturer Faculty nicopeck@sfsu.edu  
Anastasia Prentiss Lecturer Faculty prentiss@sfsu.edu  
Suzanne Pullen Lecturer Faculty spullen@sfsu.edu  
Charles Rope Lecturer Faculty chass@sfsu.edu  
Sage Russo Lecturer Faculty srusso@mail.sfsu.edu  
John Ryan Lecturer Faculty jbr@sfsu.edu  
Pati Shojaee Lecturer Faculty pshojaee@sfsu.edu  
Douglas Spielman Lecturer Faculty spielman@sfsu.edu  
Orion Steele Lecturer Faculty orion.steele@gmail.com  

Nereyda Valdez

Lecturer Faculty nmonteci@sfsu.edu  
Leah Wingard Undergraduate Advising Coordinator wingard@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Timothy Wolcott Lecturer Faculty twolcott@sfsu.edu  
Gust Yep Professor gyep@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor