Advising

Open Advising Schedule

Open advising will resume later this semester. If you need help now, please contact commadvising@sfsu.edu. For general education questions, please contact the Undergraduate Advising Center.

 

Woman behind laptop advising another student as they both look at screen

Undergraduate Advising

Woman advising another student

Degree Progress Report

The Degree Progress Report (DPR) for self advising is a great resource for students to self-advise.The DPR tracks your current progress toward meeting the requirements for General Education and the COMM major. Color coding indicates which requirements are complete, in progress, and not yet complete.

 

Faculty Office Hours and Contact Information

Please consult class syllabi or contact faculty directly for office hours.

Major and minor advising is only offered by faculty indicated as "COMM Advisor" in the far right cell.

Name Title Email Advisor Status
Shadee Abdi Undergraduate Advising Coordinator By request from comm@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Fatima Alaoui Associate Professor By request from comm@sfsu.edu  
Kat Arnolfo Lecturer Faculty karnolfo@sfsu.edu  
James Boyd Lecturer Faculty jwboyd@sfsu.edu  
Allen Conkle Lecturer Faculty aconkle@sfsu.edu  
Cherakah Cunningham Lecturer Faculty cherakac@mail.sfsu.edu  
Ashmi Desai Assistant Professor ashmidesai@sfsu.edu Conflict Resolution Advisor
Deborah Farris Lecturer Faculty dfarris@mail.sfsu.edu  
Ruth Gildea Lecturer Faculty rgildea@sfsu.edu  
Constance Gordon Assistant Professor cgordon@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Alexandra Hinck Assistant Professor ahinck@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Vivian Huang Assistant Professor vhuang@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Amy Kilgard Department Chair akilgard@sfsu.edu  
Christopher Koenig Associate Professor cjkoenig@sfsu.edu  
Omar Kudsi Lecturer Faculty kudsi@sfsu.edu  
Karen Lovaas Associate Professor klovaas@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Xander Lovelace Lecturer Faculty xlovelace@sfsu.edu  
Paloma Mathern Internship Director amolap@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Samuel McCormick Professor mccrmck@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Gerianne Merrigan Professor merrigan@sfsu.edu  
Angelina Moles Lecturer Faculty amoles@sfsu.edu  
Miranda Olzman Lecturer Faculty molzman@sfsu.edu  
Suzanne Pullen Lecturer Faculty spullen@sfsu.edu  
Sage Russo Lecturer Faculty srusso@mail.sfsu.edu  
John Ryan Lecturer Faculty jbr@sfsu.edu  
Christina Sabee Professor csabee@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Susan Shimanoff Professor shimanof@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Pati Shojaee Lecturer Faculty pshojaee@sfsu.edu  
Badu Smith Assistant Professor lsmith1914@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Douglas Spielman Lecturer Faculty spielman@sfsu.edu  
Orion Steele Lecturer Faculty osteele@sfsu.edu  
Ana Terminel Iberri Assistant Professor atermineliberri@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor
Nereyda Valdez Lecturer Faculty nmonteci@sfsu.edu  
Leah Wingard Graduate Coordinator wingard@sfsu.edu  
Timothy Wolcott Lecturer Faculty twolcott@sfsu.edu  
Gust Yep Professor gyep@sfsu.edu COMM Advisor