News & Updates

Call for Letters from Students Supporting Tenure Promotion

Friday, September 06, 2019

This year Samuel McCormick, Lean Wingard and Chritopher Koenig are all up for promotion.The Department of Communication Studies seeks letters from students describing their experience with Professor McCormick as a teacher, advisor, or mentor.  Letters from students are a critical part of the university’s evaluation of faculty members.  These letters are read carefully by the departmental review committee, the dean, the provost, and the president.  Please be advised that Professor McCormick will have access to all letters submitted.  The department has found that the most useful letters are those that provide details about and specific examples of the performance of the professor in question.  Letters must be signed and dated in order to be considered as part of this process.  Emails are acceptable provided that they are sent from an address. More info can be found here (PDF)


Please address letters to:

Dr. Gerianne Merrigan, Chair

Retention, Promotion, and Tenure Committee

Department of Communication Studies

1600 Holloway Ave.

San Francisco, CA 94132